Posted in Discovery Project: July

Thinking ahead: July

July is the month of history and I am considering how I can best explore it.  I love history and have studied it quite extensively and given my not so great start at spirituality, I could make it have a religious/spiritual bent.  And I do love religious history.  Instead though, I think here is what I think I am going to do.

  1. Read one historical book – it has to have proper academia behind it.
  2. Use our national trust membership at least once a week.  Ideally, it should be a place we have not been before, but I am not sure that will be possible. We have a few other things going on that we need to be in and around our home town for.
  3. Watch more history documentaries.  I have been doing this anyway but still.
  4. Try to learn 1 new thing each week about a period of time in a place that I do not know a lot about.  My husband has suggested exploring Asian history as I do not know much about that.
  5. Join the Archaeological Trust for our area so we can gain access to talks, etc.
  6. Go to the local museum as they have an exhibit I am particularly interested in.

I think that list is probably more than I will be able to do, but I’ll just see how it all goes. If I did a year on this one, there would still probably be more that I would want to do. I have spent the last month going to archaeological talks and there are so many historic places that I really want to visit.  Maybe I will have to make next year’s discovery project all about history.

One thought on “Thinking ahead: July

Leave a Reply

