Posted in Discovery Project: May

Day 18 of May: Appreciating what you have

I don’t know why you are here and reading or blogging, but if you have read any of my blog so far than you know why I am here.  I am here to find happiness, reconnect my soul with my body, reduce my anxiety, find fun and just refind myself. Along the way the dream was to find my path to the “perfect” life. And yes, I realise that there is no such thing so maybe the words I am looking for are “my near perfect life”.  Either way, the last week at work has been very difficult and I have been thinking back to when I was a kid and what I wanted my life to look like. And an image I remember clearly from when I was a child dreaming of adulthood popped into my head. It was eating breakfast at a diner on a Saturday morning and reading the newspaper with a partner.

Unpacking that image, to me it meant a good steady job with a stable income where we could enjoy a weekly treat of going out for breakfast. I had no real money worries and we could afford a decent house. I remember wanting a job that could allow me and my partner to travel and I wanted to be one of those women going to yoga classes. And I always wanted to ride a horse. Being able to live in Europe would be an absolute bonus. Walking down the street on my way to catch the bus after yoga, I thought about what I wanted in life and guess what, all the pieces are there.  I live in Europe, travel when I can, I ride horses, go to yoga and have a lovely house. At the moment, we don’t have to worry too much about money because we have good paying jobs and we can get a takeaway or go out for a Saturday morning breakfast if we want. All the pieces are there. The life I dreamed of is at my feet and I was missing it. I worked hard and achieved, and kept my head down and I got exactly what I wanted. So, life isn’t perfect, but pretty fricking amazing.

Leave a Reply

