Posted in Discovery Project: May

Day 15 of May: Yoga with Poirot

One thing anyone readying along needs to know about me is that  I am a horrendous multi-tasker, at least at home.  I can’t tell you the number of times that I have been watching television, checking my social media and talking with the husband while writing this blog.  I can’t tell you, because it is pretty much every time I sit down to write.  Tonight is no exception in the whirlpool of evening multi-tasking activity.  I thought about doing my half an hour of yoga and turning off the television.  But, I had started a Poirot while I finished up something else and I knew I just couldn’t turn it off without seeing the end, even though I had seen the episode god knows how many times before.  Still, I couldn’t bring myself to do it.  So, tonight I yoga’d to Poirot.  He didn’t really seem to mind.  And I know, I know, yoga is supposed to be all about quieting the mind.  But here’s the thing.  I love stories and I grew up with Poirot.  The books and the television series featured prominently in my childhood and nothing turns my brain off quite so quickly as a beloved story that makes me smile.  And tonight I completed my yoga under Poirot’s watchful eye.  He didn’t even criticise me once, although I am sure he was an expert in it.  Or maybe it was something Captain Hastings brought back from a trip to the Far East, who knows.  And I’m sure all the yoga gurus are turning in their graves, but hey, I do what works and I’m a western girl trying to understand Easter philosophy, so I’m adapting it. Who knows, maybe yoga with Poirot will be the next big thing?

Leave a Reply

