Posted in Discovery Project: May

Day 5 & 6 of May: Life’s little set back and learning

On Friday, I felt awful.  Genuinely awful.  I was dizzy and exhausted and felt like I was getting either a sinus infection or the plague. I ended up leaving the work early to come home, try not to fall asleep by 5pm but was definitely in bed by 8pm.  I felt as if I was disconnected to my body, not the best feeling when you have a pile of work to get through.   Annoyingly, I had booked onto a course this weekend and really felt like I couldn’t just spend the weekend being ill.  What’s worse, I was going to try to do 30 minutes of yoga each day this weekend, but that just doesn’t seem to be in the cards for me.

The course I booked onto for this weekend is a taster session of Life Coaching.  After years of friends joking that I would be good at it, I decided to give it a go.  And you know what, I think I may have found a calling for myself.  While I am good at my current job, I think doing a little coaching on the side might be a really positive thing in that it adds a feeling of fulfillment in my life to think I could help someone make a positive change in their lives.

Although today barely grazed the surface of the knowledge in this area, I think that all the skills I have carefully gathered from psychology and counselling curriculum are paying off.  Not only am I a really good reflector in and of myself, but I like to think that I was pretty good at helping others reflect too.  And on Friday, I was just told that my application for the Coaching & Mentoring course through work has been successful and I have been accepted on that course.  I’m really excited, but I just now need to think about how to translate this into another string to my bow.

The thing I found most interesting in the sessions today was just how much this process maps to what I am trying to achieve here.  This project was all about me realigning myself and finding myself after I got lost in the quagmire we call life.  Coaching is helping someone find their innate direction again after losing their path for a little while.  Today the trainers all talked about you being your first client.  Well, this blog is like my life coaching report on myself.  I am hopefully showing progress and growth, although I may have to repeat a few lesson after feeling a bit under the weather this week.

The other thing the trainers talked about is we know what we want but we need the why to get us going and to actually do something about it.  My why: I felt lost, sad and unhappy.  I needed to do a life reboot because I could not go on as I was.  I am still a work in progress, but also a masterpiece (thanks Facebook meme for this one).  This is my refinding and reconnecting with my priorities and my values and working to adjust my life to fit back within these.  I just hope that I can help others find their way too.

Leave a Reply

