Posted in Discovery Project: April

17 Day of April: Gardening and this week in Mindfulness

Today, was probably one of my most productive days.  It started with me sleeping from approximately 12:30am to about 9:30am.  That felt brilliant.  I took it easy for most of the morning.  But got up and put supper in the slow cooker with the help of my husband.  And then, well, then I gardened.  I gardened for about 2 and a half hours.  I just kept going and going.  And when I finished, I looked at it all.  I saw my foggy vision of what I wanted for that space becoming clearer.  I knew exactly what I needed for the next steps.  I think I solved a problem for the front bed.  And I did this all while listening to a really good story on audible.  But more importantly, I focused only on what I needed to do and the story I was listening to.  I was really proud of myself.  And more importantly, I think our garden is starting to get into shape.  There is plenty more that needs to be done with it, but I like what is happening now.  But more importantly, I didn’t think about anything else.  I only focused on the gardening.  Mindful gardening, you might say.

Once I finished all that, I made a plan for the next steps in the garden and then I took my shower.  Anyone reading along at home will remember how badly mindful showering has been going for me.  But, this shower, this shower felt amazing.  I could feel myself becoming cleaner.  The hot water felt amazing.  I had reached mindful showering.  I was so incredibly pleased with myself but this linked back to a principle I had already established, no mindfulness before coffee.

I have since made lunches for the week and did the prep work so our dinner for tomorrow is currently marinating in the fridge.  I am on fire today.  I have also read up on what this week in Mindfulness will bring and I have to say I’m excited about it, aside from trying to mindfully do another routine task.  That is going to be hard.  But, the body scan meditation I think I have done before in one of my taster yoga sessions and that seems to go okay for me.  The second thing I have to do is go for a 15-30 minute walk.  I love this.  I try to walk on my lunch every day at work anyway so I am really pleased that this can now be incorporated into my mindfulness work.

Apart from all of that, this four day weekend has been really refreshing.  I am getting somewhere with our garden.  I have made some truly tasty food.  I have slept.  I feel a bit more refreshed and ready to face the world.  I just need to use this mindfulness to help myself not get so run down in the first place.  That would be brilliant.

Leave a Reply

