Posted in Discovery Project preparations

Day 7 of February: Picking out a cake recipe

I was going to try to give baking scones another go today, but unfortunately, I was just so exhausted by the time that I came home and couldn’t face baking.  It has been a very long day and I just can not think of anything else but my bed. Having another go at making scones will have to wait until tomorrow. But, I couldn’t just leave my project for another day though.  I do not want to lose my momentum or my enthusiasm.  So, rather than exhaust myself trying to bake, I decided to do what I had expected to be doing today as well, I looked for a cake recipe.

This was far more difficult than the scones.  I couldn’t turn to a baking authority for the cake, especially as I wanted a light, fluffy American cake.  I’m not the biggest fan of the British cakes which I find stodgy and a bit heavy.  So, I turned to my trusty Pinterest account again to see if I could find a cake recipe that would fit my desires.  I was surprised at how few cake recipes both my baking and desserts boards actually contained.  It came down to 2 of them.  This one, which included layers and this one, which was a basic white cake.  Since they were very simple, I decided to go with the sprinkles cake.  Mostly, because it wasn’t a layer cake, which is far beyond my current baking prowess, but also because I loved the sprinkles.  So, tomorrow, I’ll do a check of the cabinets to see what ingredients I already have and I will get to ordering.  And hopefully, I will be try baking another batch of scones too.

Leave a Reply

