Posted in Discovery Project: February

Day 3 of February Baking: Ordering and more DIY

Well, I placed an order this morning for the items I don’t have to make scones and it should be arriving tomorrow morning.  The other thing that I have done is order baking trays.  My husband and I have had long debates over whether or not to use tin foil on baking trays.  I say no and  he says yes.  Judging by the state of our baking trays, I know I am right.  But for years he has told me if I felt that strongly about it, I should order my own.  So, for my baking experiment, I did.  It all comes with the nice side benefit of proving my point right as well, finally.

I have also finally finished painting our ensuite.  It was before, a horrible mustardy yellow with nicotine stain brown added in.  I’m really not sure how else to describe it besides gross and a bit claustrophobic feeling.  Finally, after three coats of paint to cover that icky colour, we have a white ceiling (now with bathroom paint to prevent the nicotine from coming through in the humidity) and a gorgeous light Tiffany blue colour on the walls.  It feels both gorgeous and fresh.  But, I would be lying if I didn’t say that it was a lot of work.  It took about 12 hours over 3 days to apply the paint.  It feels so good to have it done though.

Tomorrow, we also have friends coming over who haven’t seen our house so won’t know all the hard work we put into the downstairs, taking down some truly not us wallpaper and repainting.  But because I have been working very hard on the bathroom, I haven’t actually cleaned our house which desperately needs it.  And now, instead of doing that, I’m sitting here with a glass of wine.  I should probably go clean.

Leave a Reply

