Posted in Discovery Project: January

Day 19 & 20 of January Cooking: Planning for cooking

In between all of the other things I have been doing this week, I had managed to find a Chicken Pad Thai recipe.  And, I had even ordered everything for the recipe… until, one of the items wasn’t available.  So, tonight I was back frantically to the drawing board.  But I needn’t have worried, the internet always provides.  Instead of the original recipe, I’m making a simpler recipe that I found, of all places, on Gusto.  I will be honest, it had me at cheeky.  The only thing I can’t now get for that recipe is sugar snap peas.  However, I have a cunning plan.  Tomorrow we are heading over to visit a friend of ours in the next city over.  They live right near a grocery store and so I’ll just nip in there to see if I can get sugar snap peas then.  If not, I’ll see what I can find when I come home from my riding lesson on Sunday.  I will not be defeated by internet shopping!

The other thing good thing I have done for myself today is yoga.  Through my work I had paid for access to several fitness classes.  It was a one fee gets you into all of these classes kind of deal.  Today was the yoga class and instead of wimping out, I got in there and got started.  I was by far the worst in the class, but like horse riding, there is only one way I am ever going to get any better and that is by getting in there and going for it.  So I did.  And yeah, it hurts, but if felt good doing it and I felt good about it.

And, after work today I got the final tickets for our local literature festival.  I have not been before but, I am attending Mark Gatiss in Conversation, a Grim Grimm’s fairy tales for grown ups, Girls’ Own Adventures about female crime writers and Shakespeare and Religion.  My husband is coming to all but the female crime writers session.  Luckily, I have a friend going who is sitting just in front of me.  All these are happening in March, my month of finding fun and trying something new.  This will definitely be something new I haven’t done before.

A final interesting thing has occurred this week.  I am sharing this project a bit more with people in my day to day life.  I think I thought they would find it silly and cheesy.  I am being very selective with who I share it with, but still sharing wasn’t something I expected to do.  At least not while I was still on the journey.

I have also come up with a cunning plan for my baking in February which I will reveal tomorrow so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

