Posted in Discovery Project: January

January Cooking, day 2

I gave myself permission to just chill yesterday because we went to a New Year’s Eve party and I knew it would go late. But today, I made some progress on my cooking goal. There was also a casualty.  My dual types of measures measuring cup shattered when it fell on the floor as I was trying to get something else out of the cupboard.  Turns out getting a measuring cups with both ml and cups on it is difficult.  But, I’ve had it for 10 years, so I guess it lived a good life.  It survived 2 moves and was very helpful when making gravy or measuring broth.

But, rather than dwelling on the bad, here’s the good things I did today to move myself forward. Firstly, I tried making a quick chicken biryani from my speedy suppers cookbook. It was decent enough to try making it again with a few tweaks to bring out a bit more flavour.   I have also been working on selecting a chicken noodle soup recipe. Many of the recipes I had for chicken noodle soup were for the slow cooker and I decided that I wanted to actually cook a soup, so I’ve decided to try two recipes.  The first one will be normal cooking and the second will be a slow cooker recipe.

Recipe 1

Recipe 2

Now, I just need to include the ingredients in the next food order.

Leave a Reply

