Posted in Discovery Project preparations

Taking time for fun and relaxing

Today, I had to wait in for the boiler man to service our boiler.  It was, in a way, sort of a refresher day for me too.  I had a big list of things I wanted to do.  And as usual, I started to feel the rise of tension when I set myself monumental goals for the day.  Instead, what I did though was let go of the stuff that felt too much for today and focussed on enjoying my day, which I did.  I enjoyed time relaxing and watching one of my favourite television detectives.  This relaxing time helped me focus on doing a few of the Christmas preparations I had on my plate today.  And now, towards the end of the evening, I have wrapped the presents I had left to wrap and I have reviewed the recipes I planned to use over Christmas and made sure we had the correct items in our Christmas food delivery order.

As I began to look over all the food we are planning to cook I realised, I’m kick starting my ‘feeding myself up’ part of my year a little early.  After having a look at all the recipes for meatballs we have, we decided to have a ‘meatballs of the world’ Christmas.  I put out a call to friends far and near asking for their recipes.  And they did not disappoint.  So here we are trying Indian, Italian and Middle Eastern meatballs along with our Swedish meatballs, Greek meatballs, and gyozas that we already are making.  It was born out of the idea of fun but it is all about learning new recipes and eating lots.  Either way, I think it will be fun.

Okay, so I didn’t get the evergreen for the top of the mantle.  And the house is still not as clean as it could be.  But, I still have plenty of time before Christmas for that.  For now, I just enjoyed my day and that is okay.

Leave a Reply

