Posted in Discovery Project preparations

A little bit of prep work

Before I begin this elaborate journey (well, hopefully not elaborate – fun!), I need to put in a little preparation work.  These would include things like – where is a yoga class I can join?  What are my meditation options?  When I say cooking – what the hell do I want to cook?  And these are only the few I have thought of in the last five seconds off the top of my head.  The truth is, in many ways I am going into this blind and on the fly.  Also, there is the stream of my real life running alongside this.  And, I know I am going to make mistakes and mis-steps.  I may miss an opportunity to do something truly lovely because I didn’t do enough research up front.  A big part of this project for me though is to let go of my need to control and think I am in control, because let’s face it, in life often we aren’t or we are only partially.

But, there are a few things that I have thought of that I should really do.  I started a little list (and yes, I know I said I wouldn’t resort to lists, but what can I say? I’m a list maker at heart).  These are decisions I am making – yes, some of them while I am writing this and also pieces of work I need to do to get myself ready for it.

  1. Organise my Pinterest. This may not make any sense, but believe me, there is a point.  Currently it is a mess, but I think there is some good stuff in there for like tips for photography, good recipes and some fun decor ideas.
  2. Start some of the fun things a little early.  You’d find out anyway, but one thing I’ve always wanted to do was ride horses so after Christmas, I am going to start looking in preparation for March.
  3. Starting my yoga practice a little early.  I have already done a starter class, but in order to fully engage with it, I should probably start sooner rather than later.
  4. Take a writing class.  A friend did and loved it.  It may help me unblock some of the writers block I currently have and gear me up for November.
  5. Still tackle those DIY projects that just need to get done, even if it isn’t in December.
  6. And this one I have just thought of, but I am already in the process of doing it anyway, do things that feed my soul. So far this has included donating to a local food bank and ordering some sanitary items through Amazon for a friend who distributes them to the homeless at this time of year.  Doing these things always makes me feel so much better – like I have helped my fellow man, and really, isn’t that what this time of year is all about.
  7. I am going to keep going with fun things throughout the year, even if they don’t fall within the correct month -so a friend and I love going to the theatre together, and if either of us finds something to go see, I will be there.
  8. I am going to be gentle with myself while I do this, and come up with some sort of care plan for myself while I do these and make any changes to my life.
  9. At the beginning of each month, I am going to come up with my plan for the month.  This way, I won’t get too stressed out by trying to plan it all out a year in advance.  This gives me flexibility if things may change, but also to incorporate anything I learn in the previous month into the next thing.
  10. I may not get this totally completed before I start, but I am going to try to get myself into a routine.  I have realised that I often get up and get to work at slightly different times and that I often flounder because there is much to do and it feels like no time to do it.  Humans are creatures of habit and I think developing this will definitely help me because I can then incorporate these ideas into my routine.
  11. And finally, I’ve made a decision that each month will be devoted to one thing and that will be a time of ‘intense’ study of it and deciding if I want it to be a part of my core or not. If I can take action and try it all out, I will.  If I can’t, then at least I will have an idea of if I want to take it further and if I want to make it part of me.  And hopefully have an idea of how I want it to continue in my life.

For now and up until January, this will be my work.  Sorting things out and preparing for the year.  And most importantly, preparing myself mentally.

One thought on “A little bit of prep work

  1. Pingback: Discovering Me

Leave a Reply

